December 12, 2017

MEMO TO:           Mayor Barber and Board of Commissioners

FROM:                  Frank A. Rush, Jr., Town Manager

SUBJECT:           Appointments - (Summary & Suggested Motions)

The Board of Commissioners will consider filling vacant seats on three important appointed boards at the December 12 meeting.

Planning Board – 1 Vacancy

As you know, Mark Taylor was recently elected to the Board of Commissioners, thus resulting in a vacancy on the Planning Board.  The Board should appoint an individual to serve the remainder of his term that expires in March 2018.

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee – 4 Vacancies

The terms of members Wanda Collins, Anne Schrott, Ken Stone, and Deborah Styron all expire in December 2017, and the Board should appoint 4 individuals to serve new 2-year terms that will expire in December 2019.  All 4 individuals have expressed interest in being reappointed to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee.

Eastern Carolina Council of Governments – General Membership Board – 1 Vacancy

The Town is asked to appoint one of the members of the Board of Commissioners to serve on the General Membership Board of the Eastern Carolina Council of Governments (ECC) for 2018.  The General Membership Board includes representatives from all participating local governments in the ECC, and provides general guidance to the ECC.  A separate Executive Committee provides direct oversight of the organization.

The ECC is one of sixteen multi-county planning and development regions in the State, and serves as a forum where local officials determine priorities for the larger area in which their communities are an integral part.  The ECC includes members from nine counties in eastern North Carolina (Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, and Wayne).  The ECC offers a variety of services, including transportation planning, economic development assistance, services for the aging, and support services for area local governments (i.e., GIS services, consulting services, grant assistance, etc.). 

The Town was a member of the ECC for many years, but dropped its membership during the recession of the late 2000s, and rejoined this organization in FY 15-16 (annual dues are approximately $1,300).  The Town has primarily benefitted from the ECC’s transportation planning and GIS services in recent years, including Patrick Flanagan’s (ECC Planning Director and lead staff person for DownEast Rural Planning Organization) assistance with the NC 58 Corridor Study. 

The General Membership Board usually meets twice per year in New Bern, usually in January and June.  Commissioner Dooley is the current Emerald Isle representative on the ECC General Membership Board.