February 13, 2018

MEMO TO:        Mayor Barber and Board of Commissioners

FROM:             Frank A. Rush, Jr., Town Manager

SUBJECT:       Appointments - (Summary & Suggested Motions)

Planning Board – 3 Vacancies

The Board of Commissioners should appoint 3 individuals to 2-year terms on the Planning Board that will expire in March 2020. 

The terms of current members Malcolm Boartfield, Chad MacAvery, and Jim Osika all expire this month.  As you recall, Chad MacAvery was just recently appointed to an unexpired term in December 2017, and 3 have expressed interest in serving a new 2-year term if the Board is so inclined. 

Audit Committee – 1 Vacancy

The Board of Commissioners has utilized a smaller Audit Committee consisting of Mayor Barber, Mayor Pro-Tem Messer, and former Commissioner Maripat Wright for the past several years to complete a more detailed review of the Town’s annual financial statements and financial audit.  The committee usually only meets once per year, and sometimes twice per year, and makes a recommendation to the full Board of Commissioners regarding the Town’s annual financial statements and financial audit.

With the recent departure of former Commissioner Wright, the Board should appoint another Commissioner to serve on this committee.