February 14, 2017

MEMO TO:        Mayor Barber and Board of Commissioners

FROM:             Frank A. Rush, Jr., Town Manager

SUBJECT:       Appointment – Eastern Carolina Council General Membership Board - (Summary & Suggested Motions)

Commissioner Candace Dooley’s term on the General Membership Board of the Eastern Carolina Council (ECC) of Governments is expiring, and the Town is asked to appoint one of the members of the Board of Commissioners to this seat.  The General Membership Board includes representatives from all participating local governments in the ECC, and provides general guidance to the ECC.  A separate Executive Committee

The ECC is one of sixteen multi-county planning and development regions in the State, and serves as a forum where local officials determine priorities for the larger area in which their communities are an integral part.  The ECC includes members from nine counties in eastern North Carolina (Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, and Wayne).  Carteret County and all 11 municipalities in the County are members.   

The ECC offers a variety of services, including transportation planning, economic development assistance, services for the aging, and support services for area local governments (i.e., GIS services, consulting services, grant assistance, etc.).  The Town has primarily benefitted from the ECC’s transportation planning and GIS services in recent years, including Patrick Flanagan’s (ECC Planning Director and lead staff person for DownEast Rural Planning Organization) assistance with proposed NC 58 traffic improvements.